Muhammad Farashuddin
Muhammad Farashuddin

General Information
Former Governor of Bangladesh Bank

Full Name: Dr. Muhammad Farashuddin

Affiliation: East West University

Current Position: Chairperson of the board of trustees

Date of Birth: April 18, 1942

Place of Birth: Bangladesh

Home District: Sylhet

Nationality: Bangladeshi


Muhammad Farashuddin (born 18 April 1942) is a Bangladeshi economist who served as the seventh Governor of Bangladesh Bank, the central bank of Bangladesh. He served during 1998–2001. He is the founder of East West University (EWU) where he was the founding vice-chancellor during 1995-1998. He is currently the chairperson of the board of trustees of the university. Farashuddin also served as the private secretary to Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman from 1973 to 1975.

Farashuddin was born in the village of Ratanpur in Nayapara Union, Madhabpur of Habiganj District. He started his school life from Ratanpur Government Primary School. In 1951, 1952, 1953 he studied in Jagdishpur High School in 6th, 7th and 8th Classes respectively. He passed Matriculations from Sylhet Pilot High School in 1958 and then passed HSC from Sylhet MC College in 1960. He obtained Bachelor’s and Master’s degree in Economics Department from Dhaka University in 1963 and 1964 respectively.

Farashuddin has held a number of positions in the Governments of the then East and West Pakistan and later in the Government of Bangladesh. As a member of the elite erstwhile Civil Service of Pakistan (CSP), Farashuddin worked in the field administration as Sub divisional Officer (SDO), Additional Deputy Commissioner (ADC), Additional Commissioners well as Deputy Secretary and Joint Secretary during 1966-1975.

In addition, Farashuddin is a Senior Fellow and Member of the Board of Trustees of BIDS, Founder Member of Governing Council and Academic Council of the Bangladesh School of Economics, Senate Member of University of Dhaka, Syndicate Member of Jagannath University, Visiting Professor (occasional) at the Institute of Business Administration (IBA) of Dhaka University and East West University.

Honours and Fellowships:

  • Outstanding Foreign Student Boston University USA 1978.
  • Outstanding Leadership in Higher Education Bloomsburg University, USA 2012.
  • Leadership in Higher Education Award by the Australian Academy of Business Learning 2016.
  • Fellow, Bangla Academy 2015
  • BIDS – Banik Barta Economist Award 2015.
  • Khan Bahadur Ahsanullah Gold Medal 2013
  • Sylhet Ratna 2012
  • Mercantile Bank Gold Medal 2010
  • Sorojini Naido Gold Medal 2008


  • Gonotontrer Pathe Orthonitic Agrajatra : Mowla Brothers 2007
  • Pratham Dorshene Bangabandhu: Agami Prakashani 2011
  • Retention and Success in Higher Education: The East West University Experience: forthcoming


Register for comment


No data found